Croatian Mine Action Centre – Centre for Testing, Development and Training, (HCR-CTRO d.o.o.)

The Centre was established in 2003 as the first institution in the Republic of Croatia which conducts research, development and education in the field of humanitarian demining. HCR-CTRO was a partner in numerous bilateral and multilateral research projects (

We have a prominent place on the global mine action stage, with the three main activity fields:

  • Testing and certification of demining and mine detection equipment
  • Training courses for demining and EOD managers and practitioners
  • Development and validation of new mine action technologies and techniques

HCR-CTRO is accredited by the Croatian Accreditation Agency according to HRN EN ISO/IEC 17065:2013 standard to conduct certification of demining machines, mine detection dogs, metal detectors and PPE, and has ISO 9001:2008 certified, which ensures expected reliability and high quality to our customers.

Evaluation and verification of the project results will be organised by HCR-CTRO at the test-sites (test minefields) in Benkovac and Cerovac, Croatia.


Located within a military range near Karlovac, there is a test site Cerovac with a total area of 55 ha, which offers the opportunity for testing, development and training in demining. In accordance with the intended purpose and content, it is spatially divided into 5 units: the demining machine testing area, the dog testing area for the detection of explosives, the metal detector test area, the mine clearance training area, the area for research and testing of new technologies and the method of demining. On Cerovac test site there is office and storage spaces in two buildings, each of 75m2.


Situated in the coastal region of Croatia, the test site covers 10.000 m2 and it offers the opportunity to test and validate equipment (detectors, sensors, GPRs), techniques and methodologies.

The test site was established in the year 2000, and in 47 rows there are 1.000 mines buried in various depths. A part of the test site is intended for blind test, and the other one for open tests with known locations of mines, with three types of soil with different characteristics.


University of Banja Luka, Faculty of Electrical Engineering (UNIBL)

The UNIBL, established in 1975, is the second largest university in BiH, with more than 18,000 students. It consists of 16 faculties: Academy of Arts, Architecture, Economics, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Medicine, Agriculture, Law, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Technology, Sport, Philosophy, Philology, Forestry, Political Sciences, and Mine Engineering. The UNIBL has about 70 study programmes and is fully committed to the idea of a borderless area for research and knowledge exchange in Europe. Besides of an excellent location, the UNIBL has other competitive capabilities, including about 1,000 research active staff for teaching and research and 450 administrative staff members. The UNIBL staff has been involved in more than 90 Tempus projects, several FP6, FP7 and HORIZON projects, as well as in Erasmus projects. The other international projects were financed by: the European Commission, the Council of Europe, United Nations, the World Bank, governments of several states. The UNIBL is bound by more than 200 bilateral agreements on cooperation with public and private universities from all over the world.


University of Zagreb, Faculty of Transport and Traffic Sciences (UNIZG)

University of Zagreb was established in 1669. It employs 7915 academic staff and has 72500 students. University comprises 29 faculties, 3 art academies, and one university centre. There are 138 study programmes in fields of: Arts, Biomedicine, Biotechnology, Engineering, Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences. Only in 2015 there have been 915 PhD degrees awarded at the University of Zagreb.

Faculty of Transport and Traffic Sciences (FTTS) was established in 1984 as a higher education institution and part of the University of Zagreb. Faculty of Transport and Traffic Sciences employs 121 academic staff and has around 2200 enrolled students. There are three study programmes: Transport, Intelligent Transport Systems and Logistics, and Aeronautics. So far, FTTS has awarded 125 PhD degrees. Faculty of Transport and Traffic Sciences is active in domestic and international projects and collaboration through FP7 and Horizon2020 programmes as well as in collaboration with European universities through Erasmus+, CEEPUS, and Basileus programmes.


University of St Andrews, Organic Semiconductor Centre (USTAN)

The University of St Andrews is the third oldest university in the English speaking world, founded in 1413. Today it is a research intensive university, ranked 3rd in the UK in the Guardian University Guide 2017.

The Organic Semiconductor Centre (OSC) at the University of St Andrews is an interdisciplinary research centre with the principal aim of advancing organic semiconductor materials and devices toward applications ( Located in the School of Physics and Astronomy (ranked 3rd in the UK for research quality (REF2014)), OSC facilities include a purpose built clean room, and a suite of characterization laboratories containing state-of-the-art equipment for optical and electrical measurements. Of particular relevance to the current project are facilities for measurements of time-resolved photoluminescence and absolute efficiency of light emission, fabrication and characterization of polymer laser sensors, and trace vapour sensing.